Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Lemmie’s Wintergreen Bonnet

2 Comments

My friend, Sara, is due to welcome a little girl into the world this October. I offered to make her baby a head covering (haha) of her choosing, and she picked the Wintergreen Bonnet. I took it upon myself to give her future child the nickname Lemmie.  Brazen, I know.  I think it’s adorable.  It’s her initials cute-ified. 😛

I think the most appropriate color for a baby named Lemmie is a lemony yellow. As such, I picked up a hank of Plymouth Yarn Worsted Merino Superwash in the “Butter” colorway for the body and used Malabrigo Rios in “Plomo for the edging and icord.

042I had to go up to size 7 needles to get somewhat close to gauge.  The size 5 needles called for in the pattern resulted in a bonnet fit for a hamster.  I think the proportions are a little bit off, too.  It looks too long and too short.  The back is also kind of strange, but it might fit better on a smaller baby.  I tried it on Ronan, but he’s 8 months old and has a pretty big head.  Hopefully it’ll fit a newborn perfectly!

039040041Maybe Sara will take some action shots once Lemmie’s here. It’ll look much cuter on a baby than on my old table!

Raveled here.

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

2 thoughts on “Lemmie’s Wintergreen Bonnet

  1. I love the bonnet. And the color is beautiful! AND I love that her Auntie Meghan bestowed such a cute nickname on her. ☺️

Leave a Reply

