Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Star Spangled Beanie

Leave a comment

Earlier this year, my sister-in-law sent me a picture of a store-bought hat that she liked but wanted to tweak.  She asked if I could make it for her for Christmas, and I said yes, of course.  I put off knitting the hat as long as I could, and I finally cast on on December 9th.  I like to cut things close, it seems.

This project required a TON of knitting.  Like, way more than I anticipated.  The stitches are teeny tiny.  I grumbled through the whole process, but the results are amazing and well worth the effort.

Star Spangled Beanie

Star Spangled Beanie

I’m not a fan of flag inspired clothing, but this hat is pretty cool.  I used Cascade 220 Fingering and 2.5mm and 3.25mm needles. The beanie features a turned hem which covers all of my hideous floats from the colorwork stars.  I love turned hems.  I’m going to find a way to use that technique more often.  Instead of coming up with my own chart for the stars, I just swiped this one.  I’m really, really lazy.

Colorwork Stars

Colorwork Stars

006My gauge on the 3.25mm needles measured 16 sts x 21 rows = 2 inches.  Ouch!  I hope my sister-in-law loves it.  I’m going to force her to wear it regardless! 🙂

Raveled here.

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

Leave a Reply

