Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Lettuce Beanie

4 Comments

About a month ago, my aunt contacted me and asked for winter hats for herself and my cousin.  I decided to knock them out real quick instead of waiting for colder weather.  When I put things off, they tend not to get done. 🙂

Edited 017

I used the Caramel Cable Hat pattern for this lovely head-topper. I made a couple of modifications at my aunt’s request.  She has a small head, so I omitted one of the cabled sections.  I also did an extra cable repeat to lengthen the hat a bit since a lot of the height got sucked up by the negative ease.  I used size 4 needles for the entire hat, as called for in the pattern.  Worsted weight yarn on size 4’s wasn’t exactly a walk in the park, especially during the cabling portions!

Edited 021

The yarn is Malabrigo Rios (do I sense a pattern here?) in “Lettuce.”  My aunt picked the color herself.  I hope it’s what she expected.  It looks more like a color I would have picked than she would!

I really like how this turned out, and if I wore beanies, I would totally make one for myself!

Raveled here.

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

4 thoughts on “Lettuce Beanie

  1. LOVE this color and the style too.

  2. Well, that just says Springtime time to me. Spring all year round. What a wise colour choice. Masterful knitting…it looks really good.

Leave a Reply

