Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

I’m Getting Serious

Leave a comment

…about my pictures!

I’ve always drooled over the professional looking pictures a great many bloggers have posted of their families and projects.  I’ve tried time and time again to replicate the quality of those photos with my point-and-shoot camera, but to no avail.  Months ago my point-and-shoot broke, and I began looking at fancier cameras.  (I even put “fancy digital camera” on my Christmas list!)  I quickly discovered that by “fancy” I meant DSLR.

After consulting with a photography and camera enthusiast, I went ahead and purchased a Nikon D3200 the day after Christmas.  Since I ordered it online, I had to wait for it to be shipped.  It was a very long 5 days, but I spent it reading up on photography.  There is an incredible amount of information out there, and I could spend days reading tips, tricks, and tutorials if allowed.  Since receiving my camera, I’ve been playing and experimenting with all of the settings.  I am a pretty terrible photographer, it turns out, but that’s okay.  I’ll get it eventually!

I’m having some trouble figuring out the whole “lighting” thing.  I’m hoping to get some practice photographing stuff outside (in natural light) when Kai is home on vacation later this month.  It’s kind of hard to practice when you’re chasing a two year old around the yard. :/

In addition to reading everything about photography that I can get my hands on, I’ve also been reading up on post processing.  I’m not about to shell out hundreds of dollars for Photoshop or Lightroom, so I downloaded a couple free programs to get my feet wet.  My knowledge about using these programs is extremely limited, so that’s another area of my photography (if you can even call it that) I’m eager to improve.

My subject of choice has been the kids, but once the weather warms up, I’d like to photograph some landscapes, flowers, and wildlife.  I tried photographing the snow a couple of days ago.  It went horribly.  I tried all the tricks, but I still failed.  I hope I get some more opportunities to practice (read: MORE SNOW!).

Here are some examples of the progress I’ve made:

Edited 007 Edited 023 Edited 035 Edited 050 Edited 059 Edited 113

I’m pretty darn happy with what I’ve accomplished in the past week.  It’s nowhere near professional, but it’s a heck of a lot better than what I was doing before!

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

Leave a Reply

