Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Bright Belugah Slouchy Hat – First Progress Report

4 Comments

I finished my sister-in-law’s Christmas hat yesterday, and I love it so much that I chose to make one for myself. I’m making a few mods this time, namely using size 7 needles instead of size 6 for the brim, and I’m contemplating knitting mine an inch shorter. I’m not totally sold on shortening the length, though.

image

I love, love, LOVE this Malabrigo Rios yarn. It is absolutely delightful. So soft, so squishy, so perfect! This hat is being knit in the “Sunset” colorway. I’ve recently developed a taste for bright colors. ๐Ÿ™‚

I do have a complaint, though. I’ve encountered one actual knot and FOUR sections of completely unspun yarn that warranted cutting. And as you can see, I’m not very far into the hank. There were even more thick, unspun sections, but I knit them into the hat. The same problem was present in the hank I used for my sister-in-law’s hat, although it was much less severe. I will now be thinking twice before I purchase this yarn again. I have one more hank waiting to become a hat, and I hope it restores my faith in Rios.

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

4 thoughts on “Bright Belugah Slouchy Hat – First Progress Report

  1. I love my Beluga hat. It’s currently in the closet waiting for the weather to turn chilly.

    I can’t believe you’ve found so many issues in your Malabrigo yarn. That stinks! I hope it’s not a common thing and you just happen to have two “dud” hanks.

Leave a Reply

