Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Slouchy Belugah Hat – First Progress Report

4 Comments

Christmas knitting is well underway! Today I started knitting a hat for my sister-in-law. I chose Malabrigo Rios in the “Candombe” colorway, which is a mix of blue, green, yellow, purple, and brown. I’m not a huge fan of variegated yarn, but this colorway piqued my interest, and I was told the recipient likes multicolored stuff.

image

The yarn is super soft, and it’s superwash, which is fantastic! I feel bad giving non-knitters things with special laundering instructions. I don’t like saddling unsuspecting people with an object that requires too much work to keep clean. Knitters, however, are fair game. 🙂

A bit of pooling has appeared on the brim, which I loath. I hate pooling. That’s part of the reason I dislike variegated yarns. I hope that the body of the hat breaks up the colors a bit more.

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

4 thoughts on “Slouchy Belugah Hat – First Progress Report

  1. LOVE the colors! 🙂

  2. I completely share your distrust of varigated yarns and the colour pooling thing. It is an ugly thing. Having said that, your project is looking lovely…the texture really helps varigation look good.

Leave a Reply

