Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Knotty Gloves – First Progress Report

2 Comments

You guys gotta hear this story…

I decided a while back to make my cousin a pair of gloves since she has a hard time with store bought gloves, and she’s been taking professional pictures of Eva for free. So I said to myself, “Self, what color goes with everything?” Black, of course! Then I asked myself what pattern I think she’d like. “What about Knotty Gloves? Oh yes, yes, yes. Perfect. “Okay, Self, now that I have some black fingering weight yarn and a pattern that requires cabling, when should I knit these gloves?” AT NIGHT YOU SILLY GOOSE!

I’m lucky I haven’t made a mistake, yet. All in good time, I’m sure.

image

Here’s my progress. This is the wrist of the right glove. I’m done cabling, and now I’m working on the thumb increases. I’m a bit intimidated since I’ve never knit gloves before, but I think I can make this work. I’m just dreading those ends I’m going to have to weave in. 🙂

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

2 thoughts on “Knotty Gloves – First Progress Report

  1. So pretty! I’m always skeptical about knitting with black yarn because I’m worried that all the hard work I do with the cables wont show up (and I knit at night too). The combination of the two is a recipe for dropped stitches! But your gloves look fantastic and the cables are showing up beautifully! I might just have to pick up some black yarn…

    • Thanks! I’ve been lucky so far and haven’t dropped any stitches. I’m not done, though, so there’s still time! I think this design works up well in darker yarns. I checked out the projects on Ravelry, and the ones in dark yarns appealed to me the most.

Leave a Reply

