Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

For The First Time

3 Comments

After letting them languish in the closet for way too long, I finally tried out the new swift and ball winder that I bought long ago. I’m this close to finishing my shrug, so I wanted to prepare the yarn for my next project.

image

My swift and ball winder!

image

The yarn - Knit Picks Swish Worsted in "Blue Violet"

image

The yarn on the swift.

image

The ball winder ready for assembly.

image

I'm winding!

image

Completed yarn cakes.

The cake on the left looks a little wonky. It’s the second one I wound, so I’m not sure what I did differently. I’m assuming it has to do with the tension. I’ll knit from that cake first. I don’t want the yarn to stay stressed (if it is) for too long.

I was pleasantly surprised at how quick and simple the process was. It took me a few minutes to set everything up (it’ll only take a minute next time since I now know how everything works) and literally a minute per hank to wind.  Much quicker than hand winding! I had to fight the urge to wind everything in my stash, one, because I read hank form is easiest on the yarn, and two, because it would take three years to wind my ginormous stash. I don’t want to tell you how long it took me to find that yarn when I went searching for it in my many bins, boxes, and bags…

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

3 thoughts on “For The First Time

  1. The “blue violet” colorway is very pretty! What will those lovely cakes become?

Leave a Reply

