Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Crafty Acquisitions

6 Comments

Since Kai was on babywatch today, I took a trip out to Hobby Lobby to pick up some supplies.  A friend of the family has requested a crochet Christmas tree similar to one her grandmother made years ago.  I did some research on Ravelry and decided that this pattern was the closest match to the tree in question.  Since I don’t have any green acrylic in my extremely large stash, I had to pick up a skein plus something to use as decorations for the tree.

image

After a half an hour (seriously) of scouring the bead section, I decided on the combo you see above.  I’m not jumping for joy over my selections, but they’ll do.  I just couldn’t find anything in particular that spoke to me.  Since the beads are made of glass, they are a bit heavy.  I’m thinking I’ll have to weight the base of the tree when it’s finished.

I suppose it wouldn’t have been a proper trip to the craft store (or in my nature) if I had left without something for myself.  I spent some time browsing the button section and was unable to leave without these:

image

Come on, did you think I'd leave without these??

image

Pretty Ladybugs!

image

It's no secret that I have a thing for diamonds...

Now I have to knit some garments so I can make use of my new treasures!

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

6 thoughts on “Crafty Acquisitions

  1. I was there today, too! Since I’m down in SJ for a family party, my Mom, Hannah, and I went. I got a few packs of safety eyes for myself, two pink wicker baskets to organize baby clothes (nesting, nesting, nesting!), and I picked up the supplies to make lollipop bouquet centerpieces for my sil’s baby shower.

    I behaved myself and only bought the safety eyes, but I could have spent hours picking out goodies. 🙂

    • I wonder if we were there at the same time! I was there around 1ish. I love their basket selection. I contemplated buying a knitting basket, but then I remembered that Eva would clean it out in about two seconds.

      At least you got your safety eyes. 🙂

      • I think we got there around 11am and Hannah made it clear that she didn’t want to spend an hour browsing all the goodies. haha

        I got 3 packs of eyes! Black, blue, and green. My next stuffed toy will be adorable!

      • I think I spent an hour in there, and I was only supposed to buy yarn and beads! Just wait til the girls are older. I’m sure they’ll start wanting to be creative, and they’ll find craft stores super exciting. 🙂

  2. The owls are so eye catching!

Leave a Reply

