Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Felici Socks – Fifth Progress Report

6 Comments

Ugh!  This is taking way too long!  I think that’s my fault, though, seeing as I’ve been avoiding it every chance I get.  Even with my avoidance issues, I’ve made it to the gussets.

image

I’m still working on perfecting my technique.  It seems like every single time I pick up stitches to do the gussets, I end up with holes.  I know when I pick up those “corner” stitches, I’m either picking up one too many, or I’m picking them up in the wrong spot.  It’s pretty pathetic that I still have this issue after all of the socks I’ve knit.  One day I’m going to get it right.

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

6 thoughts on “Felici Socks – Fifth Progress Report

  1. I always pick up extra stitches around the corner and knit them together (usually 2 or 3 stitches). It helps close up that pesky hole.

    • Oh, and I still really like the color!

    • See, that’s where I run into trouble! That extra stitch I pick up is what causes the hole. I can’t figure out how to pick up a stitch in that “gray area” without creating a hole. :/

      • Ohhh. Have you tried knitting it tbl? I’m trying to remember exactly what I do, although I think I usually just play it by ear. The extra “corner” stitches I pick up and knit together are on the round after the stitches have been picked up, though. Am I making any sense? Lol

      • I haven’t tried knitting it tbl, but I’m not sure that’ll help since the hole is created by the tension from the picked up stitch. I had not considered picking up extras after the first round of picked up stitches. I think I’ll try that next time!

Leave a Reply

