Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Gentleman’s Plain Winter Sock – First Progress Report

Leave a comment

Today I started a new project – Gentleman’s Plain Winter Sock

image

Gentleman's Plain Winter Sock - Cuff in Progress

This pattern is from Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush.  I love this book.  The patterns are very well written and easy to understand.  If you’d like to try knitting socks, but don’t know where to start, I’d recommend taking a serious look at this book.  There are plenty of easy patterns to start with, and even the more complicated looking socks are made simple by Nancy’s great instuctions.

I’m using Knit Picks Felici Sport in “Monochrome” and 2.75mm dpns.  The pattern calls for fingering weight yarn and 2.5mm dpns, but from experience, I know I won’t hit gauge using those.  And besides, Kai’s feet are quite a bit larger than the size indicated in the pattern.  I plan to follow the pattern verbatim except I’ll be knitting a longer foot.

As always, I’ll keep you updated on my progress!

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

Leave a Reply

