Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Jalapeño Poppers

Leave a comment

Today I harvested a bunch of jalapeño peppers from my jalapeño plant in my teeny tiny garden.

image

Jalapeño peppers from my garden.

My jalapeño plant is turning out to be quite prolific and a worthwhile buy.  🙂  I was kind of at a loss as to what to do with my bounty.  Then it dawned on my that I could make jalapeño poppers!  I love the ones that come in a box from the freezer section of the grocery store, but I’m sure they’re full of all kinds of chemicals and preservatives.  I like to pretend that my version is better.  Different, but better.

Jalapeño Poppers

Ingredients:

-Seeded jalapeño peppers
-Shredded cheddar cheese
-Milk
-Eggs
-Flour
-Salt
-Vegetable Shortening

Method:

1.  Cut the tops off the jalapeño peppers and remove the seeds.  I chose to hollow mine out with a paring knife like so:

image

Hollowed Jalapeño Peppers

Yes, it was time consuming.  In the future I think I’d choose to just half them.

2.  Stuff each pepper with shredded cheddar cheese.  You could substitute the cheddar cheese with any filling of your choosing.  I believe cream cheese and bacon are pretty popular fillings.

3.  In a bowl, mix together the eggs (I used one for 8 small peppers) and a splash of milk.  In a separate bowl, mix together the flour and salt.  You’ll have to make an executive decision on how much salt to add.  I didn’t add much, but I’m pretty sure the poppers from the store have a ton of salt in the coating.

4.  Dip the peppers in the egg mixture, then dip them in the flour mixture.  Once all your peppers have been coated, heat up a pan of vegetable shortening.

5.  While the shortening is heating up, do one more round of dipping.  This will make the coating on the peppers a bit thicker.  You could try dipping them a third time, just remember to allow the peppers some time to dry between each dip.

6.  Set the peppers in the hot shortening and allow them to cook until golden brown.  Mine didn’t take long, only a couple minutes.  This probably varies according to pepper size.  My peppers were pretty little.

***Warning – If the cheese starts to bubble out, remove the peppers.  You don’t want to lose all the cheese during frying!

image

Jalapeño Poppers!

There you have it.  Homemade jalapeño poppers.  I’m sure I’ll be making lots more of these as the summer progresses.  I’m totally trying cream cheese next!

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

Leave a Reply

