Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Tomato Salad

Leave a comment

image

Tomato Salad

Today was one of those unbearably hot days where no one felt like doing anything, and as such, nothing got done.  I managed to carry out one of my minimum duties, though – making dinner.  Kai wanted something cold to eat since he’d been out all day, so I settled on tuna with a side of tomato salad, his favorite “healthy” dish. 

Tomato salad is really easy to make and takes hardly any time at all.  It’s pretty low-mess, too.  I’m including the recipe, here, so that anyone who’s interested can try it.

Tomato Salad

Ingredients:

-3 large tomatoes
-1 clove garlic*
-1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
-1/8 cup balsamic vinegar
-1/2 tablespoon salt

Method:

Prepare tomatoes for peeling by placing them in boiling water for 10 seconds.  Allow to cool, then peel skins.  (You don’t want to cook the tomatoes, you just want to loosen the skins!)  Cut tomatoes into wedges and place in a bowl.  In a seperate bowl, mix together salt, extra virgin olive oil, and balsamic vinegar.  Peel and crush a clove of garlic and add it to the oil mixture.  Pour oil mixture over tomatoes and toss.  The salad can be served immediately, but for best results, refrigerate overnight.  Occasionally I add small bits of cucumber or pepper for added flavor and color.  In the picture at the beginning of this post, you can see I added chopped red pepper.  Usually I use green, but red is all I had.  This recipe serves 3 to 4 people or one Kai.  🙂

You may prefer more or less garlic, or more or less salt.  Season to taste!

*I’m sure I’m stating the obvious here, but the garlic isn’t meant to be eaten.  It just serves as a flavor enhancer.  I suppose, if you’re dead set on ingesting it, you could mince the garlic and mix it in, but I can’t guarantee that the resulting salad will be edible.  🙂

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

Leave a Reply

