Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

I Won!

5 Comments

I’ve made a habit of entering every Knit Picks giveaway that’s advertised on Facebook.  I figure, what’s the harm?  It takes hardly any time, and usually the giveaways point me in the direction of a decent blog.  I never expected to actually win something, but I did!

I entered the Bare Gloss Fingering (70% Merino, 30% Silk) giveaway on the Fresh Stitches blog and wound up with three skeins of wonderful yarn!

image

Aren’t they magificient?  They’re meant to be dyed, but I’ve never done that before, and quite frankly I’m afraid to try.  I would love to dye these in a gray tonal, but I’m pretty sure I’ll end up with three skeins of black yarn if I make an attempt.  I think I’ll hold onto them until I work up the nerve to try dyeing.  I thought about maybe making a natural colored shawl, but would that be too boring?

Whatever this yarn becomes in the future, I’m sure it’ll be beautiful.  Thank you Fresh Stitches and Knit Picks!

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

5 thoughts on “I Won!

  1. It’s been almost a year since you wrote this, did you dye the yarn? I would suggest you try some natural dyeing to make things easier – maybe beetroot for a purple? Onion skins are also wonderful, and if you like an orange tone it’s perfect (not the red onion skins, those will also produce a purplish tone, depending on your water)

    The yarn looks amazing and I’d love to see what you did with it 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment! I haven’t tried to dye it yet, but I really want to sometime in the near future.

      I do love orange, so I may give the onion skins a try!

      • Just go for it! I dyed some wool roving with onion skins and it turned out beautiful 🙂

      • Have you found it to be permanent? The only thing holding me back is the possibility of fading. I’ve been avoiding stuff like Kool Aid for that reason.

      • I use roving for my creations, so they’re not as likely to fade because felt creatures stay indoors… But even if it fades, I think it just turns lighter so I’d just consider it part of the whole charm of handmade?

Leave a Reply

