Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

African Violet Seed Pods

3 Comments

I know for sure, now, that the swellings I’m seeing on my dark purple/blue African violet are seed pods!  As such, I took some pictures to share:

image

African Violet Seed Pod

image

African Violet Seed Pod

The above pictures show dying flowers with developing seed pods.  The following shows a dying flower without a developing seed pod:

image

It’ll be months before the seed pods reach maturity, so I’ll have to wait patiently before I can harvest them.  I see 5 seed pods forming as of the present, but that number could change drastically as time progresses.  I’ll post updates as they’re warranted.

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

3 thoughts on “African Violet Seed Pods

  1. I’m so glad you took pictures! I just found some on my biggest violet this morning and I’m all “what the…?” lol.

  2. I’ve got a seed pod too! I’ve been growing African Violets for almost 30 years and this is the first seed pod I’ve seen. I’m now looking up info to turn these into plants – I gather it is a long process but it would be worth it to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

