Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Separating Cantaloupe Seedlings

2 Comments

This morning I took the plunge and separated my cantaloupe seedlings.  They were getting way too big for their container.

image

Supplies

I transferred each of them into their own little pot.  The only thing I could find was some empty instant coffee cans in the basement.  I’m assuming they came from my in-laws’ house, because neither Kai nor I drink instant coffee.  I sure hope they weren’t meant for anything in the near future…

image

Separated Cantaloupe Seedlings

The seedlings look awfully pitful now.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be loosing some, if not all, of them.  I even managed to damage the leaves on at least one of the seedlings when removing them from their communal container.  I’m so mad at myself!  Next year I’ll know to plant cantaloupe seeds individually in their own pots.  :/

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

2 thoughts on “Separating Cantaloupe Seedlings

  1. Live and learn. I’m sure they’ll do fine as long as you don’t drown them. I might poke holes in the bottoms of the tins if you haven’t already, just to provide some drainage.

    • I haven’t poked holes in the tins. Didn’t even think of that. Thanks for the advice! I hope they will be able to move outside soon. This weather is so unpredictable!

Leave a Reply

