Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

A Sprout!

2 Comments

Lookie!

image

Carnation Sprout

My carnation seeds have started to sprout!  Nothing else in my flower seed tray is showing signs of life, but I’ll take what I can get.  So far I can see seedlings in two of the five cups.  I am beyond ecstatic.  🙂

Today, Eva and I went to her grammy’s house to plant surprise pansies.  We spent a couple hours outside preparing the area and planting.  Eva slept through most of it.

image

Front of Mom's house - with pansies!

I took the liberty of surrounding her mailbox with flowers.  She never plants anything there, and I don’t know why.  I love the look of mailbox gardens.

While I waited for Eva to wake up, I googled information on Mexican sunflowers.  My mother-in-law gave me some seeds, and I wanted to research the proper care.  While doing that, it dawned on me that I could try planting regular sunflowers, too, using some of my mom’s birdseed.  I found some black oil sunflower seeds in the basement and stole a handful.

image

Mexican Sunflower Seeds (left), Black Oil Sunflower Seeds (right)

I’ll plant these guys later tonight.  It’ll be cool to have some ginormous flowers in my garden come summer!

Before ending this post, I’d like to share a picture of my Tete-a-tete daffodil.  It’s still blooming, but the leaves have spread out quite a bit.  I hope that’s not a sign of trouble.  I’d like to keep it as an indoor plant if possible.  If I can’t, I may have some daffodils it could join out near my shrubs.  Something’s coming up out there, and I’m pretty sure it’s daffodils.  I think the guy who sold us the house may have planted flower bulbs.  🙂

image

Tete-a-tete Daffodil

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

2 thoughts on “A Sprout!

  1. Yippee on your sprout! I agree with you, mailboxes are cool when surrounded with flowers.

Leave a Reply

