Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

The Plant Collector

Leave a comment

I’ve become a bit of a plant collector. It hasn’t gotten as bad as my yarn collecting…yet. I had a few houseplants in my possession, namely a Christmas cactus and a couple African violets, but today I added quite a few more.

Every time I go to the grocery store, I mysteriously end up in the floral section. I then spend twenty minutes looking at each plant over and over again until I make a selection. I’ve made a habit of “rescuing” violets since they do so well in my dining room window, but today I branched out a bit and bought a violet AND a mini (Tete-a-Tete) daffodil:

image

This went into Eva’s room. I’ll see how it fares in her window. If it doesn’t do well, I’ll move it to the dining room. (The picture doesn’t show it, but the flowers shimmer. That’s why I picked it.)

image

I put this on an end table in the living room. I bought a beautiful iris and hummingbird pot to go with it. I hope it gets enough light in its current location!

I then took this obsession further and went to Home Depot under the guise that I’d be purchasing some self watering pots for my violets. I came home with the pots, plus two more pots, plus these plants:

image

I call this the Dr. Seuss plant. I have no idea what it is. This calls for some googling.

image

This is a little plant I bought for my kitchen window. I would have preferred something that flowers, but I couldn’t find anything small enough. :/

I plan to keep adding to my collection. I’d love a large fern or palm. And some orchids. Good thing I’ve got a birthday coming up!

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

Leave a Reply

