Moby Knit

It's a handmade adventure!

Lightroom 5 – A New Experience

2 Comments

My software download card for Lightroom 5 arrived yesterday. (Squeeee!) I had been watching tons of tutorials and reading lots of articles while I waited for it to arrive, so I was confident I would be an expert once I had it installed. Silly me. I quickly discovered that I had no idea what I was doing, and, much to my dismay, made my poor sister-in-law look like a glowing alien.

I returned to YouTube, watched a few more tutorials, and picked a new victim. This time it was Kirsi. She fared much better than Maija.

Kirsi BandANow it’s not perfect, but I think it’s an improvement. I even edited a beach scene.

030I am pretty stoked, I must admit. I’m loving this new program. Previously I used GIMP, which probably does the same stuff as Lightroom, but I never bothered to learn much about it.  I doubt I’ll be going back, though, since I’ve now been spoiled.

The next step I’ll be taking is changing my camera’s setting to shoot in RAW instead of JPEG. I’m really nervous to do it, but from what I hear, it makes for better images. I’d like to get some more shots of the kids. Maybe something I can use for this year’s Christmas cards. Getting a three year old, an eighteen month old, and a newborn to pose together shouldn’t be too difficult, right?

Author: Moby Knit

Yarnie

2 thoughts on “Lightroom 5 – A New Experience

  1. That’s awesome. I use PS CS, but I like funny.pho.to online. It’s so easy and you can imbed the image on a magazine cover or frame and they have a lot of cool photo effects.

Leave a comment