Knotty Gloves – Complete!

I took my (or should I say my cousin’s) Knotty Gloves outside for photo shoot on this miserable day today. Unfortunately, my options are limited when it comes to spare time for photo shoots, and this was the best I could do. I was hoping for a sunny day, but I don’t see that happening ’round these parts for a few days.

image

I am pleased with how these turned out, given that they’re my first (and probably last) pair of gloves. I absolutely hate weaving in ends, and this project had 462 ends. Yes, I counted. I was planning on adding conductive thread to the thumbs, but I didn’t like the feeling of the scratchy thread, so I nixed that idea. (I did enjoy dangling the thread over top of my phone, though!) I reinforced the pad of the right middle finger by weaving a length of yarn through the stitches on the inside of the finger. My cousin says all of her storebought gloves develop a hole there, and I didn’t want to take any chances. Since I used a merino/nylon blend, I hope these puppies hold up to whatever she throws at them!

image

As for the specifics, I used size 2.5 (3.0mm) dpns and Knit Picks Stroll Sock Yarn in “Black.” I was able to knit one whole glove and just past the thumb increases of the second glove before needing to start a second skein.

image

I love the cable detail on the wrist, and it was surprisingly easy to knit even in black yarn. If I didn’t hate knitting gloves so much, I’d make a pair for myself. I think I’ll just stick with something like mittens, though.  :)

About Moby Knit
Wife, Mother, Knitter.

12 Responses to Knotty Gloves – Complete!

  1. Geraldine says:

    wow, these are beautiful! great job.

  2. Sara Crafts says:

    They turned out awesome! And I had no idea you could buy conductive thread!

    • Moby Knit says:

      Thanks! Yes, you can, and it is very scratchy in my opinion. If you’d like a bit, I can give you some when you visit!

      • Sara Crafts says:

        That’s weird. Why would you want scratchy thread rubbing across touchscreens? I’ll have to give it a feel when I visit (which I still need to set up with you…).

      • Moby Knit says:

        Maybe I’m just really sensitive, but it definitely had a metallic feel to it. Actually, I’m pretty sure it’s made of metal. It might be fine enough not to cause scratching, but it definitely wasn’t something I liked touching my thumbs.

  3. empress27 says:

    Beautiful! I knitted some very, very similar gloves last year for my Mums Christmas present. First pair I ever made. Lots of mistakes starting off, but really enjoyed the process. Gorgeous gloves!

  4. trpeters02 says:

    They came out beautiful!

  5. Geraldine says:

    Wishing you a magical Christmas season and all the good things in 2014! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

