Slouchy Belugah Hat – Complete!

I finally have some pictures to share of the Slouchy Belugah Hat I made for my sister-in-law.

image

Slouchy Belugah Hat

image

Malabrigo Rios in "Candombe"

I used size 6 and 10 needles and Malabrigo Rios in the “Candombe” colorway. I’m not as in love with this colorway now that it’s knit up and not in hank form. I think I’ll stick to tonals from now on.

image

image

Please note that the above shots were taken just a few minutes ago, about 36 hours after my wisdom tooth extraction. That’s why I have a fat lip and a stupid, puffy smile on my face.  :)

I wish I could have taken better pictures, but daylight has been waning, and my (reluctant) photographer is only available at night. I think you can get the gist from these, pictures, though.

Raveled here.

About Moby Knit
Wife, Mother, Knitter.

12 Responses to Slouchy Belugah Hat – Complete!

  1. Sara Crafts says:

    The hat turned out well. I don’t generally gravitate towards bright colors, but the close-up picture of the yarn is pretty.

    Are the meds out of your system, yet? My Facebook wall was full of “dog shaming” links earlier today. lol But they WERE amusing.

    • Moby Knit says:

      I’m a bright color fiend! I like one bright color at a time, though. No more variegated yarn!

      I think they’re gone. Yesterday was a blur. I think I’m just a little sleep deprived at this point. It’s hard to get comfortable, and Kirsi hadn’t exactly been accommodating. The surgeon gave me Percocet, which would be nice to take if it didn’t make me sick. I took one a few hours after surgery when the numbing meds wore off, and I swore not to do it again. I can’t eat enough to handle those at the moment.

      I did manage to eat some sushi this afternoon. It hurt like you wouldn’t believe, but it was worth it. :D

      • Sara Crafts says:

        You should be feeling better in a day or so, I’m told. My wisdom teeth never came in so I can’t give you any firsthand advice.

        As for the sushi…. Yuck!

      • Moby Knit says:

        You’re super lucky! From what I hear, eating will be way more comfortable once I’ve healed.

        I don’t eat the raw sushi. I had an avocado roll, which is just avocado and rice. That’s my favorite. I wisely skipped the wasabi this time. :)

  2. trpeters02 says:

    Love the color way!

  3. mycraftbay says:

    Very nice!

  4. needleandspindle says:

    I reckon the colourway looks great on the hat, especially up close. But I do know what you mean about varigated yarn, looks amazing in the hank and is usually disappointing to knit up. I could just collect the hanks I guess and not bother knitting them! Good luck with the teeth.

    • Moby Knit says:

      I agree! I occasionally have to remind myself that no matter how pretty a variegated yarn looks in the hank, it’s probably not going to look anywhere near as pretty knit up. Tonals are much more appealing to the eye, in my opinion.

      Thank you for the kind words. I’m feeling a bit better each day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

